Texas or Bust

20130628-200515.jpg

I realize I haven’t posted anything in a few weeks. Truth is, most of my time has been preparing for the LCMS National Youth Gathering down in San Antonio Texas which will be all this next week. We’ve been preparing for this trip for almost a year now and I’m still in almost disbelief that we’re actually leaving tomorrow… And yes, we’re driving. From the Twin Cities, MN ALL THE WAY down. 20 hours straight. With 70 youth. That sounds like a blast (insert nervous laughter).

I’m really looking forward to this trip. This is a huge youth convention for Sr. High youth, specifically for the Lutheran Churches. And it brings in about 30,000 people for every convention. I guess you can say it’s kind of a big deal. I’ve been on a trip like this before when I was a youth. I remember the impact it had on my faith. It was one of the pivotal moments in my Christian walk, so I’m really excited to be going as an adult leader and share and see those moments in the youth I am co-leading down there.

The theme for the convention comes from 1 John called Live Love[d]. And I’m only slightly biased because 1 John is my favorite book in the Bible. But that theme, as simple as it may seem, has SO much depth to it as I have learned studying it over the years and I know the impact the idea of being God’s beloved has had on me, so I can only imagine how amazing of an impact it’s going to have on the youth being in the presence of the Holy Spirit with 30,000 other people all together.

So right now I am finishing packing and getting everything I think I need for the trip. This is more of a per-post posting to a post I will be writing throughout the week as I’m down there. I’m really excited and really looking forward to what God has in store for this week. But right now, it’s just Texas or Bust!

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

