The little things

So this happened a few months ago, and I’ve been trying to work it out in my head what I wanted to say for a while. So I hope this is adequate to what I’m trying to get across.

So last year was a crummy one for me and that’s putting it lightly. There’s a lot of stuff I wish I could take back or do over. But I learned a lot because of those things. But most of that learning didnt really come till much later. Almost 6 months later. You see there was this girl, who under normal circumstances I probably would’ve befriended. She is the kind of person that draws people into her social circle with her joy and her love for others. She’s a real sweetheart. But unfortunately I did not know her under those terms and things between us, well, they got a little testy. There was a situation that she got the misfortune of getting caught up in and for most of that year we were at each others throats. Neither of us I would say, would admit to acting lovingly towards each other the way sisters in Christ should. And like I said, it took me a LONG while to get past everything that happened and forgive her (and forgive myself!)

You see, starting back last January I had started to pray for her and for the both of us that God would just move in both of us and give us each understanding hearts to forgive each other over what happened between us. I had been praying that prayer for almost a year before God answered it in the most unexpected way. I was on twitter one day (like always) and I was responding to an tweet sent by@TheSingleWoman which basically asked, since you’re single, what do you have the free time to do that you otherwise wouldn’t if you were in a relationship? I responded that I have time to devote to my church’s youth group and to my girl’s small group bible study. Well I didn’t think I’d get a response out of that, but I did. And turns out I got a free copy of  The Single Woman (Mandy Hale’s) book called “Letting go and Moving on” which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND getting a copy for yourself, just click on the link to pick up a copy!(The Single Woman’s Sassy Survival Guide: Letting Go and Moving On [Kindle Edition])

So I read the book. It’s short, sweet and to the point! She really lays down that if the relationship isn’t good for you, LET IT GO! And move on to bigger and better things! I read it and the whole time I just felt God nudging me saying that I had to give this book as a gift to the other girl because I knew that she needed to hear what it said just a much as I did. But MAN, I did NOT want to! This girl had been nothing but mean to me, saying really hurtful things and never apologized for any of it and God was asking ME to spend money on her for a book that she probably wasn’t going to read anyways?! But I knew I had to. I knew that if I ever wanted the stupid fighting between us to end, I had to do something. So I bought her the book. I gifted it to her over amazon and the next day I get a reply on twitter from her that she was looking forward to reading it and that she really appreciated it. I was NOT expecting that!

I know that it probably doesn’t seem like much. It was me just buying her a book that really only cost me a few bucks. What difference is that going to make? I can’t say much for her, because I’m NOT her for one, but I really haven’t spoken to her in over a year, but I can say for me it made a huge difference in the way I see her. I see her for the person God created her to be, a loving, caring child of God that is saved by grace the same as I.
It’s the little things that make all the difference.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

